Wednesday, 5 December 2012

2013/14 The Julius Nyerere Master’s Scholarships for Tanzanian Students at University of Edinburgh in UK

The University of Edinburgh offers Three Scholarships for Tanzanian Students to Pursue Master’s Study in UK, 2013
Study Subject(s): Any subject offered by the university.
Course Level: This scholarship is available for pursuing master’s degree level.
Scholarship Provider: University of Edinburgh.
Scholarship can be taken at: UK
-   The scholarships will be awarded to Tanzanian citizens who are normally resident in Tanzania, and who are accepted for admission on a full-time basis for a postgraduate Master’s programme of study at the University of Edinburgh.
-  Applicants should already have been offered a place at the University of Edinburgh and should have firmly accepted that offer or be intending to do so.
Scholarship Open for International Students: This Scholarship is open for Tanzania Students.
Scholarship Description: The Julius Nyerere Scholarship was set up in 2009 in memory of Mwalimu Julius Nyerere who led Tanganyika to independence in 1961 and became the first prime minister and later president of Tanzania. Nyerere received a scholarship in 1949 to attend the University of Edinburgh where he obtained a Masters of Arts degree that saw him study courses in English, Political Economy, Social Anthropology, British History, Economic History, Constitutional Law, and Moral Philosophy.
Number of awards offered: The University of Edinburgh will offer three scholarships.
Duration of award(s): The scholarships will be tenable for one academic year.
What does it cover? The Julius Nyerere Master’s Scholarships will cover the full overseas tuition fee, living costs of £10,000, and a return flight from Tanzania to the UK.
Selection Criteria: The three Scholarships are awarded broadly on the basis of academic merit, with candidates requiring a Bachelors degree equivalent to a UK First Class Honours (‘First’) or Upper Division/Upper Second Class Honours (’2:1′) degree.
Notification: A Selection Committee will meet in mid May 2013 to select the scholarship holder. The winners of the scholarships will be announced in late May 2013.
How to Apply: The mode of applying is online.
Scholarship Application Deadline: Do submit your applications till 1 April 2013.
Further Scholarship Information and Application

No comments:

Post a Comment