Monday, 19 November 2012

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for Masters Students from Developing Commonwealth Countries to Study at Participating Institutions in UK

Study Subject(s):
Courses offered by the University
Course Level:
Awards are for taught Master’s courses only. No awards will be made for undergraduate or doctoral study.
Scholarship Provider: 
Department for International Development (DFID) , United Kingdom
Scholarship can be taken at:
Applicants must:
-be nationals of (or permanently domiciled in) a developing Commonwealth country, and not currently be living or studying in a developed country (please see the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships prospectus 2013 for a list of eligible countries)
-hold a first degree at either first or upper second class level
-be sufficiently fluent in English to pursue the course
-have not previously studied for one year or more in a developed country
-be able to confirm in writing that neither they or their families would otherwise be able to pay for the proposed course of study
-be willing to confirm that they will return to their home country as soon as their period of study is complete
Scholarship Open for International Students:
The students of Anguilla, Nauru, Antigua and Barbuda, Nigeria, Bangladesh, Pakistan,Barbados, Papua New Guineas, Belize, Pitcairn, Bermuda, Rwanda,Botswana, St Helena, British Virgin Islands, St Kitts and Nevis, Cameroon, St Lucia,Dominica, St Vincent, Falkland Islands, Seychelles, Fiji, Sierra Leone,Gambia, Solomon Islands, Ghana, South Africa, Grenada, SriLanka, Guyana, Swaziland, India, Tanzania, Jamaica,Tonga, Kenya, Trinidad and Tobago, Kiribati, Tristan da Cunha, Lesotho Turks and Caicos, Malawi ,Tuvalu, Malaysia, Uganda, Maldives, Vanuatu, Mauritius, Western Samoa, Montserrat, Zambia, Mozambique, Zimbabwe and Namibia can apply for this scholarship.
Scholarship Description:
-Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are for taught Master’s courses only. All courses undertaken must be demonstrably relevant to the economic, social or technological development of the candidate’s home country. Awards are available at participating institutions in the UK only.
-Commonwealth Shared Scholarships prospectus 2013 – includes full details of the UK institutions offering Shared Scholarships in 2013. A hard copy of the prospectus can be obtained from the Shared Scholarship scheme administrators.
-Please note that participating universities are required to support the student stipend for the award holder (at the rate set by the UK government). The CSC funds the cost of tuition fees (at overseas rate), return airfares, and other allowances.
Duration of award:
Awards are normally tenable for one-year taught postgraduate courses only.
What does it cover?
-DFID and participating UK institutions will jointly meet the full costs of an award holder’s study in the UK including air fares to and from the UK. Maintenance allowance is paid by the scholar’s host institution, at the level set by the UK Government: £1,134 per month for scholars based in London and £917 per month for the rest of the UK.
-A grant of up to £225 to cover thesis (Master’s) costs is available; also available is £200 for study travel. The cost of up to 10 Kilograms of excess baggage (books only) is available for scholars returning home at the end of their awards.
How to Apply:
Most universities will handle advertising and recruitment directly using their own application form, and you should therefore apply to the university direct. Following their closing date for applications, the university will ask those candidates which it selects to complete the CSC’s application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS). Please note that candidates must complete their application via the EAS by 16 April 2013 at the latest, in order to be nominated to the CSC by their host university.
Option 2
Some universities request all of their Shared Scholarship candidates to apply via the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). You will be advised by the institution if this is the case, and should then access the EAS once it is open for Shared Scholarship applications by the end of October 2012. Applications must be submitted in time to meet the university’s own deadline, which will be made clear in the EAS and is listed in the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships prospectus. (Where a university has not specified a closing date, you should contact the institution to ascertain the latest date that applications will be accepted).
Scholarship Application Deadline:
Do submit your applications till 30 April 2013.
Further Scholarship Information and Application

No comments:

Post a Comment